Our supporters

We are grateful to all those who support our charitable work.

Danielle George with her robot orchestra, presenting the CHRISTMAS LECTURES.
Paul Wilkinson

DCMS Culture Recovery Fund

Here for Culture logo

The Royal Institution has been awarded nearly £600k from the £1.57bn Culture Recovery Fund by the Department of Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.

#HereForCulture is a movement that unites the public, government and cultural organisations in support of fantastic cinemas, theatres, music venues, museums, galleries and heritage.

We would also like to thank the following organisations and individuals for their kind generosity and support.

Corporate supporters

Corporate major donors

L’Oréal UK & Ireland

Bain Capital


Corporate supporters

Agilent Technologies Foundation

The Alan Turing Institute

Advanced Research Clusters (ARC)


Faraday Institution





UK Research and Innovation

Corporate members

AWE plc

Become an Ri Corporate Member

In-kind supporters

Thank you to our in-kind supporters who provide us with priceless support on a variety of projects.

Trusts and foundations

Major supporters

Lloyd's Register Foundation

Causeway Technologies

The Doris Pacey & Dr Michael and Anna Brynberg Charitable Foundations

The Clothworkers’ Foundation

Trusts and Foundation Supporters

Causeway Technologies

Company of Actuaries Charitable Trust

British Psychological Society

John S Cohen Foundation

The Ernest Cook Trust

Equitable Charitable Trust

ERA Foundation

Faraday Foundation

The Genetics Society

Bernard Gold Foundation

Charles Hayward Foundation

A G Manly Charitable Trust

Brian Mitchell Charitable Settlement

GM Morrison Charitable Trust

The Patron Fund

Reece Foundation

Science and Technology Facilities Council

Shears Foundation

DS Smith Charitable Foundation

Individual supporters

Director's Circle

Cristóbal Conde

W & M Seddon

Luca and Leila Bassi

Simon Godwin

Faraday Circle

Sir Desmond Pitcher

Azad Ayub

The Faraday Foundation

James del Favero

Hank Roberts

Diffusion Circle

Karen and Gordon Moore

Damon de Laszlo

Duncan and Lynn McInnes

George Maher

Ian Cragg-Hine

James Fitzherbert-Brockholes

Sriram Nadathur

Martin Pidd

Nicholas and Tobe Aleksander

Paul Drake

Stephen Corben

Magnetic Circle

Florian Dommert

Iain Bratchie

Jerry Horwood

Sir John Ritblat

Karen Hodson

Ralph Rayner

Sir Richard Sykes

Dame Theresa Sackler

Stephen Dias

Electric Circle

Ahmed Hindawi

Alexander Brighenti

Anand Sambasivan

Anthony Davies

Sophie Storm MacLeod

Carol Yip

Charles McDowall

Christopher Potter

Chris Wigley

David Lumley

David Ricketts

David Weinberger

Dean Rowell

Denys Firth

Fergus Boyd

Francis Andrew

Gareth Lilly

Gary Simmons

Gerhard Mayr

Glenn Elliott

Hyman Mindlin

Ian Cragg-Hine

Ian Hooper

Jane Bransgrove

Janet Larsen

Joe Calder

Jonathan Hopkins

Justin Brickwood

Ken Charman

Louise Terry

Luigi Santambrogir

Melinda Quintin

Michael Clayton-Brown

Michael Hogg

Rex Sandbach

Robert Greaves

Rupert Cecil

Sandra von Paris

Shahpur Patell

Simeon Williams

Sophie Forgan

Steven Paul Cooper

Stuart Bridges

von der Heyde

And our supporters who wish to remain anonymous.

Major Donors

Luca and Leila Bassi

Ron Freeman

Simon Godwin

Honorary Lifetime Patron

Sir Richard Sykes


The Royal Institution would like to thank the following individuals for their kind generosity and support for the Ri and it's future.

John Archer

Frank Edward Ashman

Marjorie Boxall

Harry Childs

Lady Mary Cox

John Crank

Edward Roy Davies

Colin Lucas Honeybourne

Denise Iredell

Harry Brian Locke

Thomas Micklem

Alexander Henry Milton

Jessie Elizabeth Milton

David Alan Palmer

Frank Poperwell

Pamela Lilian Pyer

Sir Denis Rooke

Hon. Philip Samuel

Frank Solari

Edith Irene Somper

F. C. Thomas

Sir Dennis Rooke

Lady Elizabeth Brenda Rooke

Eunice Voice

Professor Herny John Valentine Tyrrell

Find out how to make a gift in your will