Ri Professors

From botany to astronomy, a list of past Ri Professorships.

Professors of Natural Philosophy and Chemistry

Click on the links to access more information about each person.

1799–1801    Thomas Garnett
1801–1803    Thomas Young

Professors of Chemistry

1802–1812   Humphry Davy
1813–1852   William Thomas Brande
1863–1868   Edward Frankland
1963–1966   George, Baron Porter of Luddenham
1986–1988   John Meurig Thomas
1991–1994   Peter Day
1994–2002   John Meurig Thomas

Professors of Natural Philosophy

1831–1837   William Ritchie
1853–1887   John Tyndall
1887–1905   John William Strutt, 3rd Lord Rayleigh
1905–1920   Joseph John Thomson
1921–1937   Ernest, Baron Rutherford of Nelson
1938–1953   William Lawrence Bragg
1960–1961   Ronald Sydney Nyholm
1980–1988   David Phillips
1988–2008   Charles Richard Arthur Catlow

Fullerian Professors of Chemistry

1833–1867   Michael Faraday
1868–1873   William Odling
1874–1877   John Hall Gladstone
1877–1923   James Dewar
1923–1942   William Henry Bragg
1942–1946   Henry Hallett Dale
1946–1949   Eric Keightley Rideal
1950–1952   Edward Neville da Costa Andrade
1954–1966   William Lawrence Bragg
1966–1988   George, Baron Porter of Luddenham
1988–1994   John Meurig Thomas
1994–2008   Peter Day
2008-present  Quentin Pankhurst

Fullerian Professors of Physiology and Comparative Anatomy

1834–1837   Peter Mark Roget
1837–1838   Robert Edmond Grant
1841–1844   Thomas Rymer Jones
1844–1848   William Benjamin Carpenter
1848–1851   William Withey Gull
1851–1855   Thomas Wharton Jones
1855–1858   Thomas Henry Huxley
1858–1862   Richard Owen
1862–1865   John Marshall
1865–1869   Thomas Henry Huxley
1869–1872   Michael Foster
1872–1875   William Rutherford
1875–1878   Alfred Henry Garrod
1878–1881   Edward Albert Sharpey-Schafer
1881–1884   John Gray McKendrick
1884–1888   Arthur Gamgee
1888–1891   George John Romanes
1891–1894   Victor Alexander Haden Horsley
1894–1897   Charles Stewart
1897–1898   Augustus Désiré Waller
1898–1901   Edwin Ray Lankester
1901–1904   Allan Macfadyen
1904–1906   Louis Compton Miall
1906–1909   William Stirling
1909–1912   Frederick Walker Mott
1912–1915   William Bateson
1915–1918   Charles Sherrington
1918–1924   Arthur Keith
1924–1927   Joseph Barcroft
1927–1930   Julian Sorell Huxley
1930–1933   John Burdon Sanderson Haldane
1933–1935   Grafton Elliot Smith
1935–1937   Edward Mellanby
1937–1940   Frederick Keeble
1941–1944   Jack Cecil Drummond
1944–1947   James Gray
1947–1953   Edward James Salisbury
1953–1957   Harold Munro Fox
1957–1961   John Zachary Young
1961–1967   Richard John Harrison
1967–1973   Andrew Fielding Huxley
1973–1979   Max Ferdinand Perutz
1979–1985   David Chilton, Baron Phillips of Ellesmere
1985–1991   John Bertrand Gurdon
1991–1999   Anne Laura McLaren
1999–2009   Susan Adele, Baroness Greenfield of Ot Moor

Honorary and Emeritus Professors

1813–1823   Humphry Davy
1852–1866   William Thomas Brande
1887–1893   John Tyndall
1905–1919   John William Strutt, 3rd Lord Rayleigh
1921–1940   Joseph John Thomson
1963–1964   John Theodore Cuthbert Moore-Brabazon
1966–1970   William Lawrence Bragg
1978–2000   Ronald King
1988–2002  George, Baron Porter of Luddenham
2000–2011   Leonard Shaw

Other Professorships

Professor of Science, Culture and Society

2015–         Gail Cardew

Professor of History of Science

2004–          Frank AJL James

Professors of Mathematics

1983–1995   Erik Christopher Zeeman
2000–          Christopher J Budd

Professor of Mechanics

1817–1829   John Millington

Professor of Metal Physics

1957–1978   Ronald King

Professor of Natural History

1826–1829   John Harwood

Professor of Science and Enterprise

2002–          Al Richardson

Professors of Solid State Chemistry

1986–2000   Anthony Kevin Cheetham
2001–2007   Paul Francis McMillan

Professor of Experimental Medicine

1977–1982   Peter Brian Medawar

Professors of Experimental Physics

1977–1988   Charles Alfred Taylor
1989–1994   Alfred Brian Pippard
1995–2002   Arnold Wolfendale
1999–           Colin John Humphreys


Readers in Crystallography

1954–1968   Max Ferdinand Perutz
1954–1968   John Cowdery Kendrew

Readers in History of Science

1970–1985   Frank Greenaway
1997–2004   Frank AJL James

View the full list of past Ri Officers and Staff

View past Directors of the DFRL

Related content