Our supporters

We are grateful to all those who support our charitable work.

Danielle George with her robot orchestra, presenting the CHRISTMAS LECTURES.
Paul Wilkinson

DCMS Culture Recovery Fund

Here for Culture logo

The Royal Institution has been awarded nearly £600k from the £1.57bn Culture Recovery Fund by the Department of Digital, Culture, Media and Sport.

#HereForCulture is a movement that unites the public, government and cultural organisations in support of fantastic cinemas, theatres, music venues, museums, galleries and heritage.

We would also like to thank the following organisations and individuals for their kind generosity and support.

Corporate supporters

Corporate major donors

L’Oréal UK & Ireland

Bain Capital


Corporate supporters

Agilent Technologies Foundation

The Alan Turing Institute

Advanced Research Clusters (ARC)


Faraday Institution





UK Research and Innovation

Corporate members

AWE plc

Become an Ri Corporate Member

In-kind supporters

Thank you to our in-kind supporters who provide us with priceless support on a variety of projects.

Trusts and foundations

Major supporters

Lloyd's Register Foundation

Causeway Technologies

The Doris Pacey & Dr Michael and Anna Brynberg Charitable Foundations

The Clothworkers’ Foundation

Trusts and Foundation Supporters

Causeway Technologies

Company of Actuaries Charitable Trust

British Psychological Society

John S Cohen Foundation

The Ernest Cook Trust

Equitable Charitable Trust

ERA Foundation

Faraday Foundation

The Genetics Society

Bernard Gold Foundation

Charles Hayward Foundation

A G Manly Charitable Trust

Brian Mitchell Charitable Settlement

GM Morrison Charitable Trust

The Patron Fund

Reece Foundation

Science and Technology Facilities Council

Shears Foundation

DS Smith Charitable Foundation

Individual supporters

Director's Circle

Luca and Leila Bassi

Cristóbal Conde

Simon Godwin

Jack Long

W & M Seddon

Faraday Circle

Duncan and Lynn McInnes

Hank Roberts

Sir Desmond Pitcher

The Faraday Foundation

Diffusion Circle

Nicholas and Tobe Aleksander

Stephen Corben

Ian Cragg-Hine

Paul Drake

The de Laszlo Foundation

George Maher

Gordon Moore

Sriram Nadathur

Martin Pidd

Tim, Stacy and Sebastian Thornton

Magnetic Circle

Azad Ayub

Iain Bratchie

Stephen Dias

Karen Hodson

Jerry Horwood

Prof Sir Robin Jacob

Janet Larsen

Chris Lowe

Daniel Morgan

Ralph Rayner

Joseph Reeve

Sir John Ritblat

Dame Theresa Sackler

Rex Sandbach

Electric Circle

Francis Andrew

Vaughan Bishop

Fergus Boyd

Justin Brickwood

Stuart Bridges

Rupert Cecil

Ken Charman

Michael Clayton-Brown

Steven Paul Cooper

Glenn Elliott

Denys Firth

Sophie Forgan

Ian Hooper

Jonathan Hopkins

Gareth Lilly

David Lumley

Sophie Storm MacLeod

Gerhard Mayr

Charles McDowall

Hyman Mindlin

Shahpur Patell

Christopher Potter

Melinda Quintin

David Ricketts

Dean Rowell

Luigi Santambrogio

Gary Simmons

Ildiko Szabo

Louise Terry

Ariana von der Heyde

Sandra von Paris

David Weinberger

Chris Wigley

Carol Yip

And our supporters who wish to remain anonymous 

Major Donors

Luca and Leila Bassi

Ron Freeman

Simon Godwin

Honorary Lifetime Patron

Sir Richard Sykes


The Royal Institution would like to thank the following individuals for their kind generosity and support for the Ri and it's future.

John Archer

Frank Edward Ashman

Marjorie Boxall

Harry Childs

Lady Mary Cox

John Crank

Edward Roy Davies

Colin Lucas Honeybourne

Denise Iredell

Harry Brian Locke

Thomas Micklem

Alexander Henry Milton

Jessie Elizabeth Milton

David Alan Palmer

Frank Poperwell

Pamela Lilian Pyer

Sir Denis Rooke

Hon. Philip Samuel

Frank Solari

Edith Irene Somper

F. C. Thomas

Sir Dennis Rooke

Lady Elizabeth Brenda Rooke

Eunice Voice

Professor Herny John Valentine Tyrrell

Find out how to make a gift in your will