11 Explorations into Life on Earth

This special publication brings to life eleven of the most captivating CHRISTMAS LECTURES on the living wonders of our planet.

  • Credit: Royal Institution

About the book

11 Explorations into Life on Earth by Helen Scales, turns our attention to our own planet and the animals, plants, fish, insects and all the other living things that inhabit it – how they've evolved and the vital roles they play in the intricate webs of life on earth.

Taking eleven of the most exciting and revealing CHRISTMAS LECTURES on the natural world given at the Royal Institution, including Sir David Attenborough's animal-packed Lectures from 1973 and Richard Dawkins's explosive series on the evolution of life, Helen Scales takes an illuminating look at more than a hundred years of scientific exploration to discover the origins of life on our planet and the mysteries so far uncovered.

11 Explorations into Life on Earth is the second in a series of Christmas Lectures books, following on from 13 Journeys through Space and Time, by Colin Stuart, published in 2016.  Both titles are available from the leading retailers listed below.

Ri Members, Ri Young Members and Patrons receive 30% off the book when buying them directly from the Royal Institution, just simply present your membership card at the front desk. Not a member yet? Become a member now!

More information

Books can be purchased from leading retailers such as:

Book Depository
British Library Bookshop
Dubray (Ireland)
Eason (Ireland)
Folio Society
Hodges Figgis (Ireland)
London Science Museum
Topping Bath & Ely
Wellcome Collection
WH Smith